7th Annual Heritage Dinner

Watering Hole by Fred Darge
 The John L. Nau III Collection of Texas Art

7th Annual Heritage Dinner
Saturday, April 23, starting at 5:30pm

Honoring the o6 Kokernot family for their steadfast friendship and commitment to the
Museum of the Big Bend, Sul Ross State University and the Big Bend community.

5:30pm Cocktail Reception
Appetizers: Bacon Wrapped Shrimp and Caprese Skewer

6:30pm BBQ Buffet catered by the Brick Vault Brewery & Barbecue
Buffet items: Brisket, Turkey, Cheddar & Jalapeño Sausage, Coleslaw, Green Chili Corn Pudding and Borracho Beans
Desserts: Pecan bars, Mini cheesecakes and Brownies. Menu is subject to change.

Admission includes Beer, Wine and Select Liquors, Specialty Cocktails (Prickly Pear and Regular Margaritas) and Nonalcoholic beverages (Water, Coffee & Tea).

Admission to Cocktail Reception & Heritage Dinner
Members: $125, Nonmembers: $150
Paper tickets will not be issued. Your name and your party names will be on the guest list at the door.

Don’t feel like driving to Marathon for the Heritage Dinner?
Leave your car in the University Center parking lot and hop on the Lobo bus for a round trip ride to the Heritage Dinner. The bus will leave at 5:00pm from the parking lot. The return trip will leave the Ritchey Building at 8:30pm. First come first serve. Limited seating.

The Kokernot family became an integral member of the Big Bend community in 1883 when L. M. Kokernot acquired ranch holdings in Brewster County in partnership with James Francis Miller and W. B. Sayers. Kokernot’s son, Herbert Lee, bought out the partners in 1897 and operated Brewster and Lubbock county ranches in association with his uncle, John W. Kokernot, until 1915. A few years later his son, Herbert Lee Kokernot, Jr., took charge of the o6 Ranch in Brewster, Jeff Davis and Pecos counties.

Photo: H.L. Kokernot Jr. and H.L. Kokernot Sr.

Many thanks to the sponsors of the 7th Annual Heritage Dinner

Presenting Sponsor
Nathali & John Weisman – Flying W Ranch

Heritage Dinner History Stewards
Texas Livestock Marketing Association
& National Finance Credit Corporation
of Texas
Gage Hotel

Heritage Dinner History Makers
Mr. & Mrs. Bob McKnight

Cocktail Reception Underwriters
Mr. John B. Poindexter
Mr. & Mrs. John Weisman

Anne Calaway
Mr. A.M. Micallef
Karen & Sam Pemberton
Susan & Jerry Pittman
Ruth Bowman Russell
Ms. Betty Tanksley
Ms. Mary Volcansek
– in Memory of Marty Davis

Mr. Ike Thacker

Lifetime Members
Ms. Anne Calaway
Mr & Mrs. G.B. Carter
Ms. Yana Davis
Dr. & Mrs. Stephen E. Davis
Ms. Leighton Donnell
Mr. Ben Foster
Mr. & Mrs. John Korbell
Mr. & Mrs. Charles Mallory
Mr. & Mrs. Thomas Semmes
Ms. Elane Scott & Mr. Rick Stephens
Mr. & Mrs. John Weisman